“Its no use going back to yesterday, because I was a different person then”

Alice In Wonderland by Lewis Carroll

What a fantastic little place we found ourselves in! We were on our way to stay in Barmouth, which was a gift for our Birthday’s. My partner was looking for a decently priced place to stay over half way through our journey. So he tells me, he’s booked us a lovely little chalet in a place in Shrewsbury, its pretty much half way for us so all good.

When I realised that the “lovely little chalet” was actually a glamping chalet, I nearly cancelled lol! Don’t get me wrong, I’ve had many years enjoyment from camping but those years are done now and I want a sink, shower and toilet at least. Doesn’t have to be five star but I don’t want to be hopping over mice and fearfully treading my steps so not to squish a frog, busy on its way to the local pond for a dip! I am sooo happy that I didn’t cancel. It’s such a delightful place! My first time glamping!

IMG_0362

It’s themed around Alice In Wonderland, with a lot of reference to other classic tales too. There are rooms available to book within the Inn itself but my partner hadn’t realised which type he had booked but it turned out to be just fine. We got there towards evening so decided to eat there and the food was delicious and plenty!

IMG_0371

We took the short path up to the chalet and were completely bowled over with the breath taking views across the hills and fields. We have such beautiful countryside in the UK, I really do hope building and construction doesn’t continue at the rate its been so far. The chalet itself was actually surprisingly very cosy indeed! There was a double bed, with lights. Tea and coffee making facilities with supplies. Two chairs on the veranda so that you can sit outdoors and soak up those beautiful views. There was also a hot tub, which regrettably, I hadn’t prepared for so didn’t test it out. There’s also animals wandering around that didn’t seem to mind us at all.

IMG_0361

Having lived in the city my whole life, I crave for these views and to breath in the country air. This place couldn’t have been more perfect to give me my much needed fix. I would have loved to do some meditation there but I slept so well and so late!

It is also a popular venue for weddings and as you can see from the picture’s above, it makes a lovely setting. It was quite cold and breezy when we arrived but I would have loved to sit out here, definitely next time!

Very quaint and unique dining/bar area. We had our evening meal and breakfast here, there is so much to take in within this room, you just don’t want to leave!

The views from the dining room are stunning, so even if you weren’t staying here, you can still basque in the views whilst stopping by for a drink or a bite to eat.

IMG_0379

Lovely surprise waiting for us in our chalet! I needed this time out so much, I have always felt that I was never meant for City living and so far circumstance has kept me there. Here is my next goal though, to move to a place of choice. To be where I feel like I belong, overlooking fields with my feet on grass, watching the animals graze.

“It seems to me we can never give up longing and wishing while we are thoroughly alive. There are certain things we feel to be beautiful and good, and we must hunger after them.”

George Eliot, The Mill On The Floss.

2 thoughts on “Weekend of bliss! Starting with Abels Harp, Shrewsbury!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.